Skip to content


 updated 4:15 PM Wednesday

Several Surprises In Tuesday’s Primary

Clark County will have a new sheriff after the November 5 general election.

In last Tuesday’s primary election, incumbent Democrat Roy Gilbert was upset by challenger Keith Gates by a 456-349 margin. Brian Lewis picked up 185 votes in the sheriff’s race. Gates will face Republican Paul Gaudette in the November 5 election. Gaudette ran unopposed, and received 421 votes.

Roger Sedore is the Democrat nominee for Western District Commissioner. Sedore received 350 votes, followed by Paul Brotherton with 195, Arney Carroll with 138, and William Butts with 21 votes. Sedore will face Joseph B. Humes, who defeated Steve Krueger and Ron Brewer by a 145-139-82 vote.

Jerry Neyens defeated Doug Smeltser 184-87 to earn the Democrat party’s nomination for Eastern District Commissioner. Neyens will face Republican Harold “Bub” Campbell.

Melissa Vigen Tweedy downed Debbie Bourgeois Pitt 689-284 in the Public Administrator’s primary race. Tweedy will face Republican Linda Shoup, who received 415 votes.

Ed Wilson will be unopposed for Coroner, and Donna Oilar is unopposed for Assessor.

Missouri voters will choose between Republican Kenny Hulshof and Democrat Jay Nixon for governor, and between Peter Kinder-R and Sam Page-D.

The State Treasurer’s race will pit Brad Lager–R and Clint Zweifel-D. Mitchell Hubbard-R will face Robin Carnahan-D for the Secretary of State’s job.

Mike Gibbons–R will take on Chris Koster for the Attorney General position.

Voters in the Ninth Congressional District will chose between Blaine Luetkemeyer-R and Judy Baker-D. In Missouri’s First

District, voters will chose between Brian Munzlinger-R and Keri Cottrell-D.

In Clark County, voter turnout was 28.48 percent, with 1536 ballots being cast. There are 5394 registered voters.

These are unofficial results until canvassed.