Skip to content

CCR-1 Holds Spring Sports Awards Program

On Monday, May 14, Clark County R-1 High School honored its basketball, track and golf athletes, as well as winter cheerleaders, at the spring Athletic Awards Program.

The Lady Indian girls basketball team finished the 2011-12 season with a 13-11 record.  Varsity letter winners were Megan Brennan, Mishaylee Cline, Tressa Harrison, Jenna Huston, Hunter Kirchner, Brittani Miller, Megan Oilar, Jorden Plenge, Kailey Roberts, Hannah Trump and Lindsey Williams.  Managers were Kelsey Anderson, Jessica Roberts and Ellie Stewart.  The Lady Indians were coached by Kelly Campbell, assisted by Danelle Brunk and Lance Smith.

Megan Brennan was named Most Valuable Player.  The Most Improved Player award went to Jorden Plenge, and Jenna Huston won the Hustle Defense award.
Junior Varsity Lady Indians were:  Brianna Bertelli, Renae Buschling, Mishaylee Cline, Emily Gregory, Tressa Harrison, Raelynn Hunziker, Hunter Kirchner, Megan Oilar, Vanessa Schmeizer, Ebonie Shelton and Tianna Smith.  The Lady Indian JV squad was coached by Lance Smith.

Winter season cheerleaders receiving letters were Justice Althide, Julie Coffman, Tristan Mowen, Caitlyn Roost, Kelsey Saunders and Emily Sutterfield.  The cheerleading sponsor was Sonya Taylor.

The Indian boys basketball team finished the season with an 11-15 record, and will return the entire squad for the 2012-13 season.  Lettering for the Indians were:  Chase Bevans, Bryce Boudreau, Tommy Dever, Austin Egley, Dylan Harper, Rye Hunziker, Lincoln Jones, Kyle Kovar, Logan Prewitt, Jayvin Ran and Luke Ross.  Tyler Brammer also played on the varsity team.

The Indians were coached by Adam Rung, assisted by Shaun Parker and Scott Murdock.  Chief Stompem was performed by Kellen Schantz and Dalton McCarty.
Austin Egley and Kyle Kovar were both named Defensive MVP, and Austin Egley was named Most Improved Player.  Luke Ross was the Offensive MVP, and Player of the Year was Chase Bevans.
JV Boys players were Cory Baker, Tyler Brammer, Bryce Burr, Derreck Fowler, Dylan Harper, Trenton Mathes, Colin McKee, Logan Prewitt, Byrce Shaffer, Caleb Stump, Jacob Trump and Logan Wheeler.  The JV Indians were coached by Scott Murdock.
The girls track team had 15 quality athletes, including nine freshman, according to coach Nicole Harper.  Lettering for the Lady Indians were:  Justice Althide, Bethany Boyd, Kelsey Britton, Renae Buschling, Chelsea Davis, Kelsey Francis, Dorcas Geezay, Miranda Goldbricht, Tressa Harrison, Hunter Kirchner, Emily Phillips, Jessica Roberts, Vanessa Schmeizer, Jasmine Scott and Ebonie Shelton.  Managers were Brianna Bertelli and Alex Gray.

Renae Buschling and Vanessa Schmeizer were name co-MVPs, and Leadership awards went to Jasmine Scott and Tressa Harrison.

The Indian track team was coach by Quentin Hamer.  Earning letters for the Indians were:  Cole Birky, Bryce Boudreau, Brandon Bourgeois, Dylan Columbia, Andrew Daw, Tommy Dever, Austin Egley, Derreck Fowler, Lincoln Jones, Damon Jordan, Kyle Kovar, Dalton McCarty, Logan Prewitt, Jayvin Ray, Luke Ross, Bryce Shaffer, Aaron Six, Jacob Trump and Seth Williams.  Not lettering were Cody Avery, Bryson Bertelli, Dustin Bookout, Tyler Brammer, Eric Burgess, Drake Davis, Justin Florea, Kycen Gillette, Dylan Happs, Ben Hart, Shannon Hoenig, Brock Kirchner, Phillip Mason, Colin McKee, Nate Moore, Austin Payton, Dakota Peterson, Dalton Randall, Wyatt Ray, Donavan Smith, Jeff Stewart, and Joe Whitehead.

Co-MVPs for the Indians were Seth Williams and Dalton McCarty.  Logan Prewitt won the Most Improved award, and Damon Jordan was the Newcomer of the Year..
The Indian golf team was coached by Adam Rung.  Earning letters were Taylor Allen, Zane Campbell, Lucas Hargrove, Jacob Jones and Cody Streit.  Not lettering were Jacob Kirchner, Devin Leffler and Marshall Thompson.

Taylor Allen won the Low Scoring Average award, and qualified for Sectionals.
The Outstanding Senior Athletes for 2011-12 were Megan Brennan and Dalton McCarty.