Skip to content

Spring Election Just Over A Month Away

By Mike Scott

The General Municipal Election in Clark County is scheduled for Tuesday, April 2, 2013.
Topping the ballot will be a tax measure put forth by the Clark County Council on Aging, which is seeking a five cent per $100 assessed valuation tax to support meals and activities at the Senior Center.
The Clark County R-1 School District Board of Education has two three-year terms available.  Penny Boulware, Ron Gregory and Ruth Brotherton are challenging incumbents Craig Hunziker and Mark Plenge.
The Clark County Ambulance District  has a board member position on the ballot in District 2 and District 5.  In District 2, Linda Bertram and Russell Lee Webster are on the ballot, and in District 5, Gabrielle Shoup will face Troy Gregory on the ballot.
The City of Alexandria has three contenders for one seat in each ward. In Ward 1, Jim Worster, Todd Davis and James West are on the ballot to fill one seat, while in Ward 2 Wallace Bryant, Jr., Justin Stice and Robert Davis are on the ballot.
Kahoka’s ballot is unchallenged, with Jerry Webber the lone candidate for Mayor.  Greg Sutterfield is the only name on the ballot in the West Ward.  Jeff Wood is running for re-election to a two year seat in the East Ward, and Greg McVeigh is seeking a one-year re-election in the East Ward.
In Luray, Carolyn Ferdig and Ed Nye are seeking to fill two positions on the Village’s Board of Trustees.
In Wayland, six candidates are seeking two positions as Aldermen at Large.  They are Shirley Bunker, Sabrina Beanie Ash, Gloria Williams, Sam Walters III, Chris Adams and Michelle Micky Roberts.
In Wyaconda, the ballot for Mayor, East and West Aldermen is empty.
Lewis County C-1 School has two board positions for three years available.  Candidates for the position are Robert Miller, Terry Faulconer, David Porter and Tina Abell.  Candidates for a one-year opening at Lewis Co. C-1 are Jamie Brennan and Darren Neisen.
Scotland Co. R-1 School District has two directors positions available.  Appearing on the ballot are Christy Aylward, Michelle Kleine, Matt Buford and Trinity Davis.
Scotland County Water District has two candidates for one board position.  They are Robert Moseley and Philip Kirkpatrick.