Skip to content

Primary Election Set For August 5

 Primary Election Set For August 5

Clark County voters will head to the polls next week to cast their ballots in primary elections that will set the slates for the November general elections.

Republican voters will select a candidate for governor. On the ballot are Scott Long, Sarah Steelman, Kenny Hulshof and Jennie Lee (Jen) Schwartze Sievers.

Lt. Governor candidates are Pete Kinder, Paul Douglas Sims, and Arthur Hodge Sr.
Mitchell Hubbard is running for Secretary of State, and Brad Lager is running for State Treasurer. Mike Gibbons is seeking the Attorney General nomination.

Closer to home, five candidates are seeking the 9th Congressional District nomination. They are Bob Onder, Dan Bisher, Danielle Moore, Brock Olivo and Blaine Luetkemeyer.

Brian Munzlinger is again running for First District State Representative.
Locally, Ron Brewer, Joseph B. Humes and Steve Krueger are each seeking the Western District Commissioner’s position. Harold (Bub) Campbell is running for the Eastern District.

Paul Gaudette is running for Sheriff, Linda Shoup for Public Administrator, and Edwin Wilson for Coroner. In Lincoln Township, Rickey R. Roberts and John Hammond are seeking the committeeman position.

The Democrat ballot is topped by a governor’s race between Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon and Daniel Carroll.

Six candidates are seeking the Lt. Governor’s job. They are: Sam Page, Michael Carter, Richard Charles Tolbert, Becky L. Plattner, Mary Williams and C. Lillian Metzger
Robin Carnahan unchallenged for the Secretary of State position.
Mark Powell, Clint Zweifel, Adriana Dannie Simckes and Charles B. Wheeler are seeking the State Treasurer’s position.

Four candidates are running for Attorney General. ?They are: Chris Koster, Margaret Donnelly, Jeff Harris and Molly Williams.

In the Ninth Congressional District, Steve Gaw, Judy Baker, Lyndon Bode and Ken Jacob are seeking the nomination.

Keri Cottrell is running for First District State Representative.

Locally, four candidates are seeking the Western District Clark County Commissioner’s job. They are Arney Carroll, Paul V. Brotherton, Roger Sedore and William J. Butts.
Jerry Neyens and Doug Smeltser are running for Commissioner in the Eastern District.

Brian Lewis, Keith Gates and Roy Gilbert are seeking the Sheriff nomination.
Donna Oilar is on the ballot for County Assessor, and Debbie Bourgeois Pitt and Melissa Vigen Tweedy are running for Public Administrator.

On the Libertarian ballot, Andrew W. Finkenstadt is running for Governor, while Teddy Fleck is seeking the Lt. Governor position. Wes Upchurch is on the ballot for Secretary of State, and Tamara A. Millay is seeking the Ninth District Representative job.

Most county voters will also vote on the following question:
Shall the Common Road District of Clark County continue to levy an additional tax rate of .35 cents on the hundred dollars valuation for a period of four( 4) years?

Polling places will be:
Clay, Des Moines #1 and #2, and Vernon Township-Wayland Fire Department Bldg.
Jackson #1, Jefferson, and Madison Township-Kahoka Fire Station
Jackson #2 Township-Shrine of St. Patrick
Sweet Home and Grant Township-Revere Community Center
Wyaconda #1 and Folker Township-Luray Baptist Church Annex.
Wyaconda #2 and Washington Township-Wyaconda Community Center
Lincoln Township-Sever Library in Kahoka.
Polls will be open Tuesday, August 5, from 6:00AM until 7:00 PM.