Skip to content

Wayne Blum Elected Mayor of Kahoka

By Mike Scott

Wayne Blum won the Kahoka Mayor’s race by a landslide, earning over 74 percent of the votes cast.  Blum defeated Ryan Lewis 246-80 for the office.  Jerry Webber was re-elected to his West Ward Alderman’s position, and Jeff Wood retained his East Ward seat.  Both Webber and Wood were unchallenged.
Miles Cameron and William Schutte will remain in their seats on the Clark County R-1 School Board.  Cameron picked up 535 votes, while Schutte received 442.  Former board member Ruth Brotherton received 269 votes in her comeback bid.
In Alexandria, Doris Pennington defeated Rosetta Worster 7-3 for the Ward 1 Alderman position.  Ronald Gates was unchallenged in Ward 2.
In Wayland, Sally Fox was reelected to the East Ward Alderman position, and Doug Smelter will continue to represent the West Ward.
Chad Yocum won a narrow victory over Heather Williams to become Mayor of Wyaconda, winning 41-39.  Tracy Russell beat Helen Graham for the East Ward Alderman seat.  James Shaffer was unopposed for a 2-year position as West Ward Alderman, and Kathy Calvert beat Gene Knupp for an unexpired 1-year position as West Ward Alderman.
Lonnie Sommers and Ed Nye were elected as Luray Village Trustees.  Sommers received 23 votes, Nye pickup up 21, and Dana Summers received five votes.  
In the Luray School Board race, Carla Soper earned 59 votes, and Beverly Yates got 46 votes to be elected to a 3-year term.  Rebecca Burr got 45 votes, Lonnie Sommers got 41, and Cory Wagers got 16 votes.  David Plenge won the race for an unexpired two-year term, defeating Ed Nye 70-37.
In Revere, Benjamin Walker and Robert Barlow tied with 11 vote each for the two Alderman seats available
Jerry Redding was the winner by a 190-99 margin over Donald Whitaker in the Ambulance District #1 race.  In District 4, there were 14 write-in votes, but several were ineligible.
There were a total of 863 votes cast in the county, out of 5503 registered voters, meaning only 15.68 percent of the eligible people voted.