Skip to content

FFA Holds Annual Chapter Banquet

By Mike Scott

Over 100 members and guests attended the Clark County Annual Banquet, held Friday night, May 8, in the CCR-1 High School Commons.

Following dinner and an opening flag ceremony, FFA President Lynn Williams called the meeting to order.

Chapter Advisors mark Lemmon and Dan Oilar reported on the contest team results for the year.  

In the 2009 Leadership Contest, the team of Chelsey Shedd, Jeremy Daw, Lindsey Williams and Josh Dalton took first place in the Area, and 10th place at District.

Neal Moon placed second in the Area with his Treasurer’s Book.
In Extemporaneous Public Speaking, Lynn Williams placed first in Area and fourth in the District.

The Parliamentary Procedure team of Lynn Williams, Rachel Daw, Dalton Ludwick, Karissa Boudreau, Angela Suter and Anthony Sherrill placed third in Area, and fourth in District.
Alicia Tripp, Alexis St. Clair and Deanna Shoup placed fourth in Area with their Reporters’ Scrapbook.

Jake Bunker and Collin Summers placed seventh in Area with the Secretary’s Book.

In the Record Book Contest, Jeremy Day took third place Area with his Beginning Ownership book.  Angela Christy took fifth place Area with her Complete Ownership book.Tara Harrison placed third in Area with her Beginning Placement book, and Kyle Meinhardt place sixth in Area with his Complete Placement book.

In the District Career Development Contests, the Entomology team of Spencer Waschenbach, Alicia Tripp, Dalton Ludwick and Lindsey Williams placed second.  

The Dairy Foods team of Collin Summers, Emylee Redding, Angela Christy and Neal Moon placed fifth.

The Agronomy team of Michael Walker, Lynn Williams, Anthony Sherrill and Mason Owen placed 13th.

Kyle Meinhardt, Zach Nixon, Zach Alderton and Britten Gray placed 10th with their Livestock Judging team.
In Poultry, Kelsey Anderson, Nikki Dochterman, Ross Frazier and Christian LaFrenz placed 10th.

Derek Smith, Brentten Smith and Eric Morgan placed 17th in Meats.
In Soils, Matt Morrow, Jeremy Daw, Rachel Daw and Michael Campbell placed 13th.

Kellen Schantz, Ryan Whiston, Justin Alderton and Jeremy Logsdon placed 17th in Forestry.

In the State Career Development Contest, the Entomology Team of Alicia Tripp, Spencer Waschenbach, Dalton Ludwick and Lindsey Williams placed third.  Tripp, Waschenbach and Ludwick all received Group 1 ratings.

The Dairy Foods team of Neal Moon, Collin Summers, Angela Christy and Emylee Redding placed 21st with a Group 2 rating.
The Knowledge team of Chelsey Shedd, Lindsey Williams, Jeremy Daw and Josh Dalton place 21st with a Group 2 rating.  Shedd received a Group 1.

The Livestock team of Zach Nixon, Zach Alderton, Britten Grey and Kyle Meinhardt placed 21st with a Group 2 rating.

State Proficiency Awards were:
Equine Placement-Karissa Boudreau
Turf Grass Management-Lynn Williams
Poultry Production-Katie Plenge
Landscape Management-Jake Bunker.
Area Proficiency Awards were:
Turf Grass Management-Lynn Williams; Small Animal Production and Care-Angela Christy; Sheep Production and Care, Angela Christy; Poultry Production-Katie Plenge; Landscape Management-Jake Bunker; Equine Entrepreneurship-Karissa Boudreau; Equine Placement-Karissa Boudreau; Beef Production-Zach Alderton and Ag Mechanics, Design and Fabrication-Michael Brennan.
Other awards given during the banquet were:
DeKalb Award-Lynn Williams.
State Degree-Angela Suter and Justin Oilar
Most Involved Freshman-Lindsey Williams
Star Greenhand-Spencer Waschenbach
Star Chapter Farmer-Kyle Meinhardt
Blue and Gold Award-Two Rivers FS
Honorary Chapter Degree-Jason Harper and Lee and Debbie Suter
American Degree-Erick Byrnn and Jennifer Plenge.
The 2009-10 Chapter Officers are:
President-Jake Bunker
1st Vice President-Neal Moon
2nd Vice President-Dalton Ludwick
3rd Vice President-Collin Summers
Secretary-Kyle Meinhardt
Asst. Secretary-Jeremy Daw
Treasurer-Neal Moon
Asst. Treasurer-Spencer Waschenbach
Reporters-Deanna Shoup, Tara Harrison and Lindsey Williams
Sentinel-Zach Nixon
Chaplin-Christian LaFrenz
Parliamentarian-Jeremy Logsdon.

“This year has been great,” said newly-installed chapter President Jake Bunker in his closing remarks.  “And I see nothing but better things to come.  We have an awesome officer team, and I look forward to working with all of you.”